Most Active Stories
- Now That 'Ink's Dry' on HB 5, Future of Texas Education Bill Secured
- Kerbey Lane 'Eat-In' Seeks Cafe at Mueller Development (Update)
- Street Closure Map: 2013 ROT Rally and Juneteenth Parade
- Two Big Education Bills Gain Approval from Texas Legislature
- With Tube Rentals, East Austin Beach Not So 'Secret' Anymore
KUT News Staff
A Short-Term Rental License is $235 - But the True Cost is Twice That
Austin property owners have started applying for short-term rental licenses to comply with a new city ordinance that took effect last week.
To obtain a license, property owners have to pay a $235 short-term rental licensing fee. But they are also required to pay a $241 notification fee– money that will be used by the city to notify neighbors within 100 feet of a short-term rental property.
This fee has generated controversy because all applicants pay the same amount, whether they have to notify 10 neighbors or 100.
"The fee is the standard notification fee that the city has," says Jerry Rusthoven with the city's Planning and Development Office. "My department, the planning department mails out notices to folks for a variety of different types of cases – zoning cases, subdivision site plans – and we have a standard $241 notification fee that’s paid for all those,"
The entire $476 in fees is due in full before a license will be issued.
As KUT News previously reported, rental operators will face different applications and licensing requirements depending on whether they occupy the property themselves (a "Type 1" rental) or use it solely as a rental property ("Type 2"). Type 1 operators and/or Type 2 operators in business before June 13, 2011, can apply for a license now. Type 2 operators in operation after June 13 will be able to apply in January.